I was all excited because I got him Madden ’10 for his Playstation 3.  (I know, I’m late on it).  Then I come home yesterday to find him playing it.  Apparently, he bought it for himself last weekend, unbeknownst to me.  SIGH.

My gift history with Fiance is less than stellar.  Most of the things I buy for him end up back at the store.  Take for example, the winter coat I bought him for Christmas a few years ago.  I absolutely LOVED the coat and couldn’t wait to give it to him.  And when he opened it, he appeared to like it.  He tried it on and I thought it looked fab.  He, however, decided it was too short.  (He’s 6’4″).  It went back to the store.  Then, there was the Swiss Army watch I got him shortly after we got engaged, just because.  I carefully selected one I thought would be absolutely perfect, and when I gave it to him he looked less than thrilled.  We ended up exchanging it for one he liked better.  Then there was the Blackberry Storm that I got him for Christmas last year that I thought would be a big surprise.  Not so much, since Verizon sent out a confirmation email to his address saying that a new phone had been added to his account.  C’est la vie.

I pride myself on being a good gift-giver, but with Fiance, it seems something always goes wrong.  The irony is that I always love everything he gets me.  Which brings me to a wedding-related question:  wedding gifts for your new husband/wife.  Do people still do that?  Get wedding gifts for each other?  Even after dropping all that cash on the wedding?  If so, what does one give/get?

xo

