This morning, I had an email in my HMPFMW inbox titled, “playful and curious.”  Gross.

** CRAIGSLIST ADVISORY — AVOID SCAMS BY DEALING LOCALLY
** Avoid:  wiring money, cross-border deals, work-at-home
** Beware: cashier checks, money orders, escrow, shipping
** More Info:  http://www.craigslist.org/about/scams.html

i am a 24 year old female i have a car and avaliable to travel and i’m
very interested in what you are offering msg me on y-hoo msgr on
candy$*@!13

Um… OK.  I know it’s spam, obvi.  But seriously, spammers – at least send me relevant spam.  Not this nonsense.  I’ve also gotten some emails from Craigslist trollers with topics like “Are you in debt?”  trying to get me to participate in get-rich quick schemes.  Sigh.  I’m not IN debt; I’m trying to stay OUT.

It’s funny how different sites attract different personalities.  Craigslist has all the wackos and mean/crude people.  Lots of swearing on the message boards over there.  And nasty emails.  I heart the Twitter crowd.  The wedding related boards (weddingbee.com, theknot.com, projectwedding.com) are an interesting bunch – some seem totally hilarious and open-minded, while some are a bit judgy-pants (of my blog, at least – very “Oh. My. God. Becky, look at her butt” comments), but really supportive of other brides.  Lots of ooohing and ahhhing at each others’ rings, dresses, etc.  Really cute to read, but I’m a bit scared to participate in all that.  They’re hardcore.  The Knot was actually the first message board to find my blog and write about it, and thanks to Champagne Supernova, a member who is evidently disgusted by me, the word got out!  Thanks, Champagne.  Couldn’t have done it without ya.  😉

On another note, a band from Texas offered to play at my wedding if I were in the area!  Sweet, right?  Unfortunately, we’re a bit far so that will be a no-go.  But I so appreciate the vendors and photogs and planners from all over who’ve offered their services.  You are amazing.  And all you readers who’ve donated a buck or two, you’re fabulous, too.  Can you tell your fun friends who you think would give a buck that they should?  I’ll love you for life.

xo

