For the love of all things “tacky,” I had to blog about the latest and greatest recessionista trend:  the rent party.  Oh, SavvySugar – never leaves a stone unturned.

In case you don’t feel like clicking the link, here is a synopsis of the rent party:

1. Freak out because you realize rent is due next week and there’s no way you’re coming up with the cash.

2. Plan last minute party and charge your friends to come to it.

3.  Put profits toward rent.

4.  Repeat monthly as necessary.

Things that make you go HMMMMM…  I’m no one to judge anyone else’s methods – long live the rent party, I suppose.  But I am curious to hear your thoughts on this one.  Would you EVER?  If you HAD to choose one – would you rather host rent parties regularly or start a website to collect wedding funds for a once in a lifetime affair?  And you can’t say “neither” – that’s a cop out.

Thanks to one of my trusty BM’s for the heads up on the rent party article.

