Howdy, folks!

I hope you all had a lovely weekend.  It’s about 10:50 EST (I haven’t figured out how to fix the timestamp on this thing – according to my WordPress dashboard, it’s already tomorrow) and I’m so happy that it’s not freezing cold anymore.  Bring on the spring!

I went to see my Dad today and while I was there, I visited our neighbors, who have been family friends forever.  It was the first time I’ve seen them (the family friends, not my Dad) since getting engaged.  So obviously, they were congratulating me and asking if we’d made any plans yet.  Ironically enough, one of them (who has known me since I was born – literally) said, and I quote:  “I always took you for someone who would just elope rather than have a big wedding.”

Interesting.  That comment got me thinking.  I’ve always been unpredictable, so I don’t think there’s anything I could do that would shock my family or close friends (including starting a website asking for donations to my wedding).  If we had eloped, I’m positive that no one would be surprised.  I imagine they would collectively shrug their shoulders and think, “Typical.”

Truth is, I have never really welcomed big celebrations in my honor.  My mom was absolutely dying to throw me a Sweet 16 back in the day and I flatly refused.  I didn’t want a graduation party when I completed high school, and I didn’t even attend my own college graduation ceremony.  (What would have been the point – there were about 7,389,238,743,975,293,857 people in my graduating class – it would have been long and boring).  I’m certainly not a shy individual, but that kind of attention was never my cup of tea.  To that end, when thinking about a wedding, I always kind of envisioned having a really small, intimate ceremony with only close friends and immediate family so as to avoid being stared at while I kiss my husband for the first time.  I thought that a huge hoopla would take away from the true purpose of a wedding and impose on those meaningful first moments as husband and wife.

But now I’m actually engaged, and I see things differently.  Not only are my fiance and I over the moon about the fact that we’re getting married – our friends and families are, too.  It would almost be selfish not to have an amazing wedding  – plus, I think my Mom is still mad at me for the whole No, I don’t want a Sweet 16 and you better not throw me one thing.  So, I figure – what better way to celebrate our love and the start of our lives together than to invite everyone and throw a really kick-ass party for once in our lives?  I want to have everything I love on my first day as a wife, and that means bacon-wrapped scallops.

On another note, I know I said no country clubs – but what do you guys think of this place? It looks really beautiful and doesn’t scream “golf course.”  Might be worth a look.  Are you guys proud of me?  I’m finding options!

Okie dokie, well… bedtime.  Back to work tomorrow.  If you’re awake and feeling generous, feel free to utilize the magic “Donate” button on the left.  You won’t really get anything in return, though – just good karma and your name on the list.

xo

PS – Who watched Desperate Housewives?  Can’t.  Even.  Deal.

