I just got engaged!  Awesome, right?

We are so thrilled to be getting hitched – we’ve been together for four years, so it’s definitely about that time.  We are finally in the same city (after a years long bi-coastal relationship; I lived on the West Coast, my fiance on the East Coast), on the hunt for our first house, and enjoying a blissful engagement.  What could be better?

What could be better is the cost of a wedding.  I was totally discouraged and dismayed to discover the ghastly pricetag attached to my dream location.  The “event minimum” is unspeakable – and it certainly doesn’t begin to cover the final cost of the affair.  I still have to think about a dress, flowers, gifts for my bridesmaids, wedding bands, honeymoon, rehearsal dinner, photographer, music… It’s mind-boggling.

I’ve grappled with this dilemma for a few weeks now.  Do I suck it up and get married somewhere cheaper?  I suppose I could, but cheap still = $20,000 for most places around here.  And I just can’t justify spending $20k on a wedding that I’m not in love with.  I’d rather elope than waste that much cash on a hotel ballroom with ugly carpets, gold drapes and mediocre stuffed chicken.  (Grimace).

One option to reduce the cost was a suggestion the salesperson at dream location offered – get married on a Sunday morning and serve brunch. Somehow, the stunning wedding I’ve imagined does not include toast or an omelette station.  Ugh.

I’ve contemplated the things I can do to cut our cost.  Dress – I will be checking out the discount gowns at David’s Bridal – loud and proud.  Flowers – tea light candles (100 count bags are about $8 at Christmas Tree Shops) will look just as elegant as centerpieces.  Invitations – I’m not all that artsy, but I’ll figure out some way to make these myself.  Photographer – We have a friend who is a FANTASTIC photog… and I am thinking we’ll ask him to photograph our big day.  Music – I will not think twice about loading up my iPod with all the songs we love and forgoing a DJ or band.

But when it comes to certain things – i.e. location and food, I simply can’t skimp.  We have family and friends coming from all over to share this joyous occasion with us, and I’ll be damned if our guests are stuck politely forcing down dry halibut and canned green beans.

Hence, the idea for this website was born.  If I could find some kind souls out there in internetland who would donate just $1 to my helpmepayformywedding fund, it may put us in the position to pay for our dream wedding without going completely broke.

My fiance and I are not bums.  We both have careers and work hard.  We spent last year paying off all our debt (with the exception of my car payment on my Toyota Corolla and the occasional credit card balance) and would really not prefer to start our marriage back in the hole.  And, my grand scheme is to keep this website alive after the honeymoon so I can help other hard-working brides pay for the wedding of their dreams.  What goes around comes around.  :)

So if you stumble upon this site, please consider donating – and spread the word to your friends/enemies/relatives/local paper/everyone in your gmail contacts.  It’s good karma.

DONATE BY CLICKING HERE!!!

PS – Please visit often to track my progress.  Once I figure out how to use ‘widgets’ and all the other crazy features on this website, I’ll add a tracker thingie.  Or a pie chart or something.

